Maple Street School is accredited by the New England Association of Schools and Colleges and is approved by the State of Vermont. A nonprofit independent school, it is operated by the Maple Street Board of Trustees.


The Board of Trustees of an independent school has three primary functions:

  1. fiscal oversight, including establishing the budget, monitoring the fiscal health of the school, and fundraising;
  2. setting overarching policy, such as the cost of tuition and the extent of financial aid, and
  3. strategic planning to chart the future course of the school, to define the school’s mission, and to develop strategies for advancing the mission.


The Board works to ensure the school is healthy for the next generation of students. It deliberately works at a high strategic level; it is not involved in day-to-day operations of the school.


The Board also holds the responsibility for hiring the Head of School, its sole employee. The Head of School reports directly to the Board of Trustees. The Head of School is responsible for enacting the policies of the Board and delivering a school experience based on the mission.


The Head of School hires the faculty and staff. The faculty and staff report only to the Head of School. The faculty and staff work with parents to create a unique learning environment guided by the mission of the school.

Maple Street School

Board of Trustees 


Peter Hershberg, Chair

Amanda Baer, Vice Chair

Rusty Davis

Sara Garay
Christopher Howe

Rocco Maggiotto

Daphne P. Markcrow

Melissa McManus

David Pollock

Bob Van Degna

Kathy Zilkha


Janet Turnbull Irving, Trustee Emerita